Yrsa Sigurðardóttir wins the Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year


The winner of the 2015 Petrona Awards has been announced. This past weekend saw Petrona judges Dr Katharina Hall, Sarah Ward and Nordic Noir expert Barry Forshaw gather at the Gala Dinner at CrimeFest in Bristol to announce the ceremony’s most prestigious award: The 2015 Petrona Award for Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year.

The honour was awarded to Yrsa Sigurðardóttir’s The Silence of the Sea. Translated in English by Victoria Cribb, and published by Hodder & Stoughton, the award was presented to the Icelandic author by Maj Sjöwall: also known as the ‘Godmother of Scandinavian Crime Fiction.’ As well as receiving this prestigious honour, Sigurðardóttir also receives a guaranteed place as a panellist for next year’s CrimeFest event.


The Silence of the Sea follows investigator Thóra Gudmundsdóttir who examines an Icelandic yacht that crashed into Reykjavik’s harbour resulting in its passengers and crew lost without a trace. On winning her award, Sigurðardóttir confirmed that she ‘love[s] making people’s flesh creep.’

The 2015 CrimeFest event also celebrated this year’s promising writers offering discussions and workshops offering an incite on how to become a professional writer. Additionally, John Curran, the grandson of legendary author Agatha Christie who celebrated his grandmother’s 125-year career this year, attended the festival.

Previous winners of the Petrona Award include Liza Marklund’s Last Will and Linda, As in the Linda Murderer by Leif G.W. Persson. For the full shortlist for the 2015 Petrona Award, see below:

The Hummingbird by Kati Heikkapelto

The Hunting Dogs by Jørd Lier Horst

Reykjavik Nights by Arnaldur Indriðason

The Human Flies by Hans Olav Lahlum

Falling Freely, As if In a Dream by Leif G.W. Persson

The Silence of the Sea by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

For more information on The Petrona Awards, and the 2016 submissions, enter here.